CZAR is an award-winning Amsterdam based production company creating story-driven moving content. We represent a roster of very nice and super talented directors – the young and curious and the established and seasoned.  We are an integrated production hub, able to attend to any request.

CZAR was founded in 1990, when Pioneer approached three young music-video makers to produce their laser karaoke clips. The trio didn’t have an office, but didn’t want to lose the deal, so overnight they transformed an abandoned office space into the ‘CZAR Group’ Headquarters. In true Mad Men style their new client turned up for the meeting oblivious to the fact that the staff members were just friends pretending to make the space look busy.

CZAR went on to produce thousands of music videos and commercials, establishing itself as an important player on the European commercial scene. The creative mindset and a healthy work ethic lead to the first Cannes Grand Prix in 1996 for Rogier van der Ploeg’s Rolo Elephant, and a Palm D’Or for best worldwide production company. 10 Years later Koen Mortier and Joe Vanhoutteghem revolutionized Belgian advertising by opening CZAR Belgium. In 2012 Koen‘s TNT film “Push to Add Some Drama” won 8 Lions in Cannes and countless other awards making it the most awarded ad campaign in Belgian history. CZAR Germany was founded in 2003.

Today creativity is still King. With our German, Belgian, and French partners, and our Scandinavian brother Bacon in Copenhagen, Oslo and Stockholm, CZAR represents some of Europe’s strongest creative talent including three of the world’s top 20 most awarded directors – Andreas Nilsson, nr. 1 and Cannes Grand Prix winner 2014 for his Volvo Epic Split, Martin Werner of Jack & Jones fame, and Bart Timmer – as well as 2014 DGA award winner Martin de Thurah. In 2014 CZAR was listed in the Gunn Report’s Top 10 most awarded production companies worldwide.

Our Team

CZAR - Karlijn Paardekooper

 

Executive Producer

karlijn@czar.nl

Karlijn Paardekooper

CZAR - Willem Bos

 

Executive Producer

willem@czar.nl

Willem Bos

CZAR - Robert Nan

 

Producer

nan@czar.nl

Robert Nan

CZAR - Roos Blank

 

Producer

roos@czar.nl

Roos Blank

CZAR - Marius van de Weerd

 

Producer

marius@czar.nl

Marius van de Weerd

CZAR - Wies Dammers

 

Junior Producer

wies@czar.nl

Wies Dammers

CZAR - Jeroen Nijhuis

 

CMO & Pitch supervision

Send mail

Jeroen Nijhuis

CZAR - Clariet Vriesendorp

 

Office Manager

clariet@czar.nl

Clariet Vriesendorp